Home | About Us | Career | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani
Back to Previous Page

*     16 women and as many men teams would compete in the first-ever Hockey 5s World Cup.
*     Womens competition will be held from January 24 to 27, while the mens tournament will take place from January 28to 31.
*     Teams will play league matches in four pools and the top two teams from each group pool will qualify for quarterfinals.
*     However, teams not qualifying for the quarter-finals will still have a chance to compete for a trophy, namely the FIH Hockey5s Challenger Trophy, which will be awarded to the team finishing ninth overall.
*     Indian women team has been grouped in Pool C along with Namibia, Poland and the United States.
*     Indian men team has been placed in Pool B along with Egypt, Jamaica and Switzerland.
*     Three players from Odisha have been selected in the 10-member Indian Women Team.
*     They are: defender Jyoti Chhatri, mid-fielder Mariana Kujur and forward Ajmina Kujur.
*     However, no Odisha players has been considered for the 10-member Indian Men Team.
*     As its name suggests, Hockey 5s is played with five athletes per team.
*     There are usually more goals with Hockey5s than with the more traditional 11-a-side format of hockey, since players can score from anywhere after the attacking line.
*     Furthermore, Hockey 5s is played on a smaller pitch.


24 January (4.50 PM): India vs Poland
25 January (1.10 PM): India vs United States
25 January (6.30 PM): India vs Namibia

28 January (3.10 PM): India vs Switzerland
28 January (11.30 PM): India vs Egypt
29 January (1.30 PM): India vs Jamaica

  Sponsored By -

Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES