Home | About Us | Career | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  SOA IGM Chess Festival: Sayantan Das wins Cat-A crown
04 Feb 2024

Indian Railway Grandmaster Sayantan Ghosh bagged the coveted Category A title in the 1st SOA International Grand Masters Chess Festival, which concluded at the Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan Deemed to be University in Bhubaneswar today.

Kolkata-based Das scored eight points out of a possible 10 to claim the trophy and the top prize of Rs 3 lakh. He won seven games, drew two and lost one. Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) asserted supremacy in the Category-A (Rating above 2000) competition with top-seed Grandmaster Diptayan Ghosh finishing first runner-up with 7.5 points.


Odisha International Master Sambit Panda made the State proud as he emerged second runner-up, also with 7.5 points. Ghosh and Panda received the second and third prize of Rs 2 lakh and Rs 1.5 lakh respectively.

Meanwhile, Vyom Malhotra (Haryana) emerged champion in Category C (Rating below 1600) garnering eight points from nine rounds. He became richer by Rs 75,000. Ishan Sinha (West Bengal) and Aarit Kapil (Delhi) pocketed the second and third prize of Rs 50,000 and Rs 40,000 respectively.

The eight-day mega chess festival, featuring competition in three categories and offering a total cash prize of Rs 35 lakh was organised by the All Odisha Chess Association (AOCA) in association with SOA. The International Chess Federation (ICF), All India Chess Federation (AICF), Sports Authority of India (SAI) and the Government of Odisha are supporting the tournament.

Young Odisha player Tapan Badamundi clinched the title in Category B (Rating below 2000), which concluded earlier on January 31. The tournament also assumed added significance as four players achieved valuable norms. CM Soham Kamotra (J&K) and Vignesh Advaith Vemula (Telangana) secured IM norm, while WFM Nilssen Ellen Fredericia (Denmark) claimed WIM norm.

AICF president Dr Sanjay Kapoor and BJD leader Sreemayee Mishra graced the valedictory ceremony as chief guest and guest of honour respectively, and presented trophies to the champions and runners-up. SOA Vice-Chancellor Prof P K Nanda, SOA Dean Prof Jyoti Dash, AOCA president GC Mohapatra and secretary Debabrata Bhatta were present on the occasion.


CATEGORY A (Top 20):
1. GM Sayantan Das (RSPB, 8), 2. GM Diptayan Ghosh (RSPB, 7.5), 3. IM Sambit Panda (Odisha, 7.5), 4. IM Neelash Saha (WB, 7.5), 5. CM Soham Kamotra (J&K, 7), 6. IM Sahil Dey (Assam, 7), 7. AGM Aquino Jethro Dino (Philippines, 7), 8. GM RR Laxman (ICF, 7), 9. IM Liyanage Ranindu Dilsan (Sri Lanka, 7), 10. Vignesh Advaith Vemula (Telangana, 6.5), 11. IM Tahbaz Arash (Iran, 6.5), 12. GM Nguyen Van Huy (Vietnam, 6.5), 13. Subhayan Kundu (WB, 6.5), 14. CM John Veny Akkarakaran (Kerala, 6.5), 15. GM Boris Savchenko (Russia, 6.5), 16. Nithin Babu (Kerala, 6.5), 17. IM Sammed Jaykumar Shete (Maharashtra, 6.5), 18. IM Tologon Tegin Semetei (Kyrgyzstan, 6), 19. GM Adham Fawzy (Egypt, 6), 20. AIM Abhay Bandewar (MP, 6).

CATEGORY C (Top 10): 1. Vyom Malhotra (Haryana, 8), 2. Ishan Sinha (WB, 8), 3. Aarit Kapil (Delhi, 8), 4. Srujan Pranayee Ray (Odisha, 8), 5. Dhiman Mitra (WB, 7.5), 6. Tushar Banerjee (WB, 7.5), 7. Abhishek Solanki (MP, 7.5), 8. KK Harsha Keertan (AP, 7.5), 9. SK Sayeed (Odisha, 7), 10. Subhash Kumar M (Telangana, 7).
PICS: Top three prize winners of Categories A (Top) and Category-C (Right) receive their trophies and prizes at the 1st SOA International Grand Masters Chess Festival in Bhubaneswar on 4 February 2024.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES