Home | About Us | Career | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Sr Men Natl Hockey: Haryana shoot out Odisha in QFs
26 Nov 2023

Hockey Association of Odisha (HAO) crashed out of the 13th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship, losing to Hockey Haryana in the first quarterfinal 4-5, via shoot out at Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium in Chennai, Tamil Nadu today.

The star-studded Odisha team, led by Olympian Amit Rohidas, fought back from 0-2 down to hold Haryana to a 2-2 draw in the regulation time. But Haryana won the shootout 3-2 to advance to the semifinals.

As for Odisha, dubbed as hockey hub of India, bowing out in quarterfinals was a big disappointment. This was the second national level competition that the State senior men team failed to make it to the semifinals. Earlier at the 37th National Games in Goa, Odisha were eliminated at the group stage.

In the ongoing Senior National Championship, Odisha put up impressive performance at the league stage, winning all three of their matches in Group-H by big margin and booking a berth in the quarterfinals. Before losing to Haryana in the quarterfinals, Team Odisha, featuring as many as eight internationals, mauled Hockey Arunachal 27-0, Delhi Hockey 8-1 and Telangana Hockey 7-0.

HOCKEY ASSOCIATION OF ODISHA TEAM: Sahil Kumar Nayak (GK), Stanli Victor Minz, Ashis Kumar Topno, Ajay Kumar Ekka, Kerobin Lakra, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Dilip Kumar Sa (GK), Rosan Minz, Prajukt Nag, Prasad Kujur, Suman Beck, Deepak John Kerketta, Rajin Kandulna, Amit Rohidas (Captain), Matiyas Dang, Dipsan Tirkey, Abhishek Lakra, Shilanand Lakra. Coach: Joyappa Bollepanda Kariappa, Manager: Gavin Joseph Ferreira.


November 19:
Hockey Association of Odisha (Nilam Sanjeep Xess 2-FG, 3-PC, 15-FG, 32-FG, Matiyas Dang 4-FG, 34-FG, 47-PC, 54-FG, 60-FG, Ashis Kumar Topno 11-FG, 25-FG, 49-FG, Prasad Kujur 13-FG, 14-FG, 39-PC, Shilanand Lakra 18-FG, 22-FG, 35-PC, 44-FG, Amit Rohidas 20-PC, 37-PC, 53-PC, Rosan Minz 25-PC, Kerobin Lakra 28-PC, Rajin Kandulna 37-FG, 51-FG, Prajukt Nag 56-FG) beat Hockey Arunachal 27-0.

November 21: Hockey Association of Odisha (Amit Rohidas 1-PC, 4-PC, 33-PC, Rajin Kandulna 13-FG, Ashis Kumar Topno 24-FG, 32-FG, Nilam Sanjeep Xess 37-PC, Shilanand Lakra 58-FG) beat Delhi Hockey (Aman Khan 11-FG) 8-1.

November 24: Hockey Association of Odisha (Dipsan Tirkey 24-PC, Rajin Kandulna 25-FG, 60-PC, Amit Rohidas 31-PC, Ajay Kumar Ekka 36-FG, Nilam Sanjeep Xess 43-PC, Roshan Minz 57-FG) beat Telangana Hockey 7-0.

November 26: Hockey Association of Odisha (Amit Rohidas 22-PC, Shilanand Lakra 43-FG) drew with Hockey Haryana (Sanjay 8-PC, 15-PC) 2-2. Shootout: Odisha (Ashis Kumar Topno, Kerobin Lakra) lost to Haryana (Yashdeep Siwach, Abhishek, Abhishek) 2-3.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES