Home | About Us | Career | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Jr Men Hockey World Cup: India enter quarterfinals
09 Dec 2023

Two-time champions India crushed Canada 11-1 in their third and last Pool-C match to enter quarterfinals of the 13th FIH Hockey Mens Junior World Cup at National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia today. India will meet Netherlands in the quarterfinal on December 12.

In the thumping win over Canada, Odisha defender Amandeep Lakra scored two goals for India, converting penalty corners on both occasions.India finished second in Pool C with six points, winning two matches and losing one. Spain emerged group toppers, winning all of their three matches and garnering full nine points.

Earlier in their first two pool-league matches, India beat Asian rivals Korea 4-2 in their opening match and then suffered a 4-1 defeat against Spain the second game. Three players from Odisha are representing the Indian U-21 Team in this Junior World Cup. They are: Amandeep Lakra, Sunil JoJo and Sudip Chirmako.

Indian team is being led by Uttam Singh with Araijeet Singh Hundal as the vice-captain. A total of 16 countries are competing in the Junior World Cup. Teams have been divided into four groups for the league stage and the top two teams from each group would advance to the quarterfinals.

INDIAN JUNIOR MEN HOCKEY TEAM: Goalkeepers: Mohith HS, Ranvijay Singh Yadav. Defenders: Shardanand Tiwari, Amandeep Lakra, Rohit, Sunil JoJo, Amir Ali. Mid-fielders: Vishnukant Singh, Poovanna CB, Rajinder Singh, Amandeep, Aditya Singh. Forwards: Uttam Singh (Captain), Aditya Lalage, Araijeet Singh Hundal (Vice-Captain), Sourabh Anand Kushwaha, Sudeep Chirmako, Boby Singh Dhami. Replacement Players: Sukhvinder, Sunit Lakra. Coach: CR Kumar.

December 5:
India (Araijeet Singh Hundal 11-PC, 16-FG, 41-FG, Amandeep 30-FG) beat Korea (Dohyun Lim 38-PC, Minkwon Kim 45-PC) 4-2.
December 7: India (Rohit 33-PC) lost to Spain (Pol Cabre Verdiell 1-FG, 41-PC, Andreas Rafi 18-PC, 60-PS) 1-4.
December 9: India (Aditya Arjun Lalage 8-FG, 43-FG, Rohit 12-PC, 55-FG, Amandeep Lakra 23-PC, 51-PC, Vishnukant Singh 42-FG, Rajinder Singh 42-FG, Sourabh Anand Kushwaha 51-FG, Uttam Singh 58-FG) beat Canada (Jude Nicholson 20-FG) 11-1.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES