Home | About Us | Career | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Temple City Bhubaneswar proved to be a magnificent new home for hockey by staging the 35th Men’s Champions Trophy Tournament very successfully at Kalinga Stadium Hockey Complex from Dec 6 to 14, 2014. Germany won the glittering silver trophy for the 10th time with a convincing 2-0 win over three-time title winners Pakistan in the thrilling summit clash. Hosts India finished fourth after they lost to defending champions Australia 1-2. Earlier in the semifinals, India lost to Pakistan 3-4, while Germany edged out defending champions Australia 3-2. Pakistan’s fighting win, however, lost much of its sheen as some of the Pak players showed indecent gesture to the crowd, while celebrating their victory. Here are some pictures of the tournament.
SV Sunil of India receives the Most Energetic Player of the Tournament award from Cairn India Deputy General Manager (Corporate Communication) Sourav Das on Dec 14, 2014.
Odisha Sports Minister Sudam Marndi`s wife at Kalinga Stadium on the occasion of Champions Trophy Hockey Tournament on Dec 6, 2014.
Odisha Governor S C Jamir at Kalinga Stadium on the occasion of Champions Trophy Hockey Tournament on December 6, 2014.
Indian team`s head coach Roelant Oltmans giving instructions to players during team`s practice session at Kalinga Stadium Hockey Complex on December 12, 2014.
India captain Sardar Singh and head coach Roelant Oltmans at a press conference in Bhubaneswar on December 6, 2014.
Jeremy Hayward of Australia scores a goal against Pakistan in their Pool-A match on Dec 9, 2014.
Hockey India CEO Elena Norman waves to the crowd during a pool match between India and Argentina on Dec 7, 2014.
Germany players celebrate their title triumph after beating Pakistan in the final on Dec 14, 2014.
Moritz Furste of Germany receives the Best Player of the Tournament prize from Odisha Sports Minister Sudam Marndi on Dec 14, 2014. Also seen is Tourism and Culture Minister Ashok Chandra Panda.
Jeroen Herztberger of Netherlands receives the Top Scorer of the Tournament prize from FIH Competition Committee chairman Ken Read on Dec 14, 2014.
India captain Sardar Singh receives the Fans Choice Award from NALCO HR Director Shyama Charan Padhy on Dec 14, 2014.
Akashdeep Singh of India receives Best Junior Player prize form MCL Director Animesh Nandan Sahay on Dec 14, 2014.
PR Sreejesh of India receives the Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament prize from Tata Steel Vice-president (Corporate Services) Sunil Bhaskaran on Dec 14, 2014.
A Pakistan player shows indecent gesture towards the crowd after their semifinal win over India on Dec 13, 2014.
Post Comment

Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES