Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani
Back to Previous Page

HOST: Bangladesh Hockey Federation

*     Hero MotoCorp Ltd is the title sponsor of the championship.
*     The quadrennial event will take place at the Maulana Bhashani National Hockey Stadium in Dhaka.
*     Introduced in 1982, the inaugural Men’s Asia Cup was won by Pakistan who also won the next two editions in 1985 and 1989.
*     Since then, India (2003, 2007) and Korea (1993, 1999, 2009 and 2013) have also been champions in the nine editions played so far.
*     The champion team will get direct entry to the World Cup, scheduled to take place in Bhubaneswar, India from Nov 28 to Dec 16, 2018.
*     This year, the premier continental tournament will feature host nation Bangladesh along with China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Oman and Pakistan.
*     India feature in Pool A alongside Japan, hosts Bangladesh and Pakistan. Group B has been formed with defending champions Korea along with China, Malaysia and Oman.
*     India will play their first match against Japan on October 11, before facing Bangladesh on October 13 and Pakistan on October 15.
*     Odisha defender Dipsan Tirkey has been selected in the 18-member Indian team, which will be captained by Manpreet Singh with SV Sunil as his deputy.

Akash Anil Chikte, Suraj Karkera
Defenders: Dipsan Tirkey, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar
Midfielders: SK Uthappa, Sardar Singh, Manpreet Singh (Captain), Chinglensana Singh, Sumit
Forwards: SV Sunil (Vice-captain), Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Gurjant Singh, Satbir Singh

  Sponsored By -

Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES