Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  State Jr Men Hockey: Sundargarh emerge champions
23 Sep 2022

Sundargarh emerged champions in the 1st HAO State Junior Men Hockey Championship with a hard-fought 1-0 win against Deogarh in the final at KIIT University Ground in Bhubaneswar today. Wilson Xaxa scored the all-important goal, converting a penalty corner in the 31st minute.

Host KIIT won the bronze medal, trouncing Sambalpur 4-0 in the 3rd/4th-place match. Nabin Bilung scored a brace, while Amrit Dungdung and Binod Lakra sounded the board once each. However, Premchand Horo of Sambalpur was adjudged as the Player of the Tournament.


KIIT captain Amrit Dungdung and Sundargarh custodian Milan Bhuyan bagged the Best Forward and Best Goalkeeper award respectively. Deogarh pair of Salim Kula and Asit Lakra pocketed the prizes as Best Defender and Best Mid-fielder respectively.

The championship was organised by newly formed Hockey Association of Odisha (HAO) for the first time with the support of the Department of Sports & Youth Services (DSYS), Government of Odisha and KIIT University. Guests for the finals included Olympians Lajrus Barla, Lilima Minz, Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, DSYS OSD Sidhartha Sankar Sahu, Joint-Secretary Sailendra Kumar Jena and KIIT University Director General (Sports) Dr Gaganendu Dash.

According to a DSYS press release over 500 players, representing 28 district and two academy/institution teams, participated in the tournament. According to HAO president Dilip Tirkey, participation of 28 teams in the tournament is unprecedented. “We can clearly see that hockey is not limited to just Sundargarh but the whole of Odisha has adopted the game with open arms,” he observed.


September 18:
Match 1: Sahid Madho Singh Hockey Academy beat Gajapati 6-0. Match 2: Ganjam beat Malkangiri 5-0. Match 3: Deogarh beat Kendrapada 6-0. Match 4: Subarnapur beat Balasore 5-0. Match 5: Jajpur beat Rayagada 2-1 in sudden death after being tied 3-3 in shootout (Regulation time 0-0). Match 6: Khordha beat Mayurbhanj 2-0. Match 7: Dhenkanal beat Koraput 5-0.

September 19: Match 8: Sambalpur beat Puri 4-0. Match 9: Nabrangpur beta Cuttack 7-1. Match 10: Balangir beat Bargarh 2-1 in sudden death after being tied 2-2 in shootout (Regulation time 0-0). Match 11: Jharsuguda beat Bhadrak 5-0. Match 12: Angul beat Nuapada 6-0. Match 13: Nayagarh beat Keonjhar 5-1. Match 14: Jagatsinghpur beat Kalahandi 1-0.

September 20: Match 15: Sahid Madho Singh Hockey Academy, Sambalpur beat Ganjam 7-0. Match 16: Angul beat Balangir 2-1. Match 17: Sundargarh beat Jajpur 10-0. Match 18: Sambalpur beat Nabrangpur 7-0. Match 19: Dhenkanal beat Subarnapur 7-0. Match 20: Jharsuguda beat Nayagarh 8-0. Match 21: KITT/KISS beat Jagatsinghpur 8-0. Match 22: Deogarh beat Khordha 5-0.

September 21 (Quarterfinals): Sundargarh beat Sahid Madho Singh Hockey Academy, Sambalpur 5-2. Deogarh beat Dhenkanal 2-0. Sambalpur beat Angul 3-0. KIIT University beat Jharsuguda 4-3.

September 22 (Semifinals): Sundargarh (Wilson Xaxa 2-PC, Rosan Kujur 57-FG) beat Sambalpur (Premchand Horo 13-FG) 2-1. Deogarh (Sandeep Lakra 5-FG, 60-FG; Sameer Ekka 23-FG) beat KIIT University (Raj Kumar Ekka 7-FG) 3-1.
September 23 (3rd/4th-place match): KIIT (Amrit Dungdung 34-PC, Nabin Bilung 49-FG, 51-PC; Binod Lakra 54-FG) beat Sambalpur 4-0. Final: Sundargarh (Wilson Xaxa 31-PC) beat Deogarh 1-0.


Sundargarh (Gold):
Sony Prayas (GK), Wilson Xaxa, Rosan Kujur, Nilesh Barla, Sandeep Ekka, Sandeep Kandulna, Menjas Ekka, Abhisek Kisspotta, Dabuka Purty, Pratap Toppo (Captain), Satish Munda, Anjit Majhi, Ajit Mahato, Prabin Soreng, Bimal Xalxo, Milan Bhuyan (GK). Coach: Stanli Victor Minz, Manager: Francis Kujur.

Deogarh (Silver): Arth Kujur, Babul Lakra, Ranjan Paul Ekka, Bikash Minz, Sunil Lakra, Salim Kulla, Prasant Barla, Sandeep Lakra, Asit Lakra, Salman Lakra (Captain), Asmin Kerketta, Asim Edison Kujur, Sainik Ekka, Sameer Ekka, Justin Kiro (GK), Billchdan Xess (GK). Coach: Belash Ekka, Manager: Dellip Kerketta.

KIIT (Bronze): Ritesh Topno (GK), Binayak Dungdung, Binod Lakra, Wilson Kujur, Raj Kumar Ekka, Rohit Xalxo, Amrit Dungdung (Captain), Nabin Bilung, Nihar Tigga, Subal Minz, Sushil Ekka, Taruna Majhi, Sanjiba Majhi, Tikeswar Majhi, Alok Minz, Sanjip Dungdung. Coach: Amulya Bihari Nanda; Manager: Asit Ekka.
PHOTO: Players of Sundargarh team pose with the champions trophy in Bhubaneswar on 23 September 2022.
RIGHT: Players of Deogarh team pose with the runners-up trophy in Bhubaneswar on 23 September 2022.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES