Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Asian Champions Trophy: India beat Pak, settle for bronze
22 Dec 2021

Olympic bronze medallist India achieved identical success in the 6th Mens Asian Champions Trophy Hockey Tournament, defeating arch rivals Pakistan 4-3 in the 3rd/4th place match at Maulana Bhasani Hockey Stadium in Dhaka today. Three-time champions India had shared the trophy with Pakistan in the last edition in 2018.

South Korea won the gold medal, defeating Japan 4-2 in shoot out after play in the regulation time of the pulsating final match ended 3-3 draw. This was the first title triumph for South Korea, while Japan settled for silver medal.


In the bronze-medal match, India came back from 1-2 down to beat Pakistan with Sumitm, Varun Kumar and Akashdeep Singh scoring their last three goals. India took an early lead with Harmanpreet Singh converting a penalty corner in the second minute. But a goal each by Afraz and Abdul Rana helped take a 2-1 lead in the third quarter. Moin Shakeel reduced the margin for Pakistan with a field goal in the 57th minute.

Japan caused a sensational upset when they stunned India 5-3 in the second semifinal on December 21, two days after losing to India 0-6 in a league match. Before the semifinals, India remained in contention for their third consecutive title, trouncing Japan 6-0 in their last league match on December 19. That was the third win for India who earlier beat Bangladesh 9-0 and Pakistan 3-1. India had emerged champions in 2016 and 2018.

In their opening match on December 14, India were denied a winning start to their campaign as a spirited Korea fought back from 0-2 down to hold the defending champions to a thrilling 2-2 draw. The 20-member Indian team, featuring three players from Odisha, was announced earlier on November 26. The Odisha players are: defenders Dipsan Tirkey, Nilam Sanjeep Xess and forward Shilanand Lakra.

INDIAN MEN TEAM: Goalkeepers: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Suraj Karkera. Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh (VC), Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Mandeep Mor. Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh (C), Jaskaran Singh, Sumit, Rajkumar Pal, Akashdeep Singh, Shamsher Singh. Forwards: Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Shilanand Lakra.
Coaches & Support Staff: Graham Reid (Chief Coach), Gregg Clark (Analytical Coach), Shivendra Singh (Coach), Ranganathan M (Physiotherapist), Ashok Kumar C (Video Analyst), Arup Naskar (Masseur).

December 14: India (Lalit Kumar Upadhyay 3-FG, Harmanpreet Singh 33-PC) drew with South Korea (Jonghyun Jang 42-PC, Kim Hyeongjin 46-PC) 2-2.
December 15: India (Dilpreet Singh 12-FG, 22-FG, 44-FG; Lalit Kumar Upadhyay 29-PC, Jarmanpreet Singh 31-PC, 43-PC; Akashdeep Singh 54-FG, Mandeep Mor 55-PC, Harmanpreet Singh 57-PF) beat Bangladesh 9-0.
December 17: India (Harmanpreet Singh 9-PC, 53-PC; Akashdeep Singh 42-FG) beat Pakistan (Junaid Manzoor 45-PC) 3-1.
December 19: India (Harmanpreet Singh 10-PC, 53-PC; Dilpreet Singh 23-FG, Jarmanpreet Singh 34-FG, Sumeet 46-FG, Shamsher Singh 54-FG) beat Japan 6-0.
December 21 (Semifinal): India (Dilpreet Singh 17-FG, Harmanpreet Singh 53-PC, Hardik Singh 59-PC) lost to Japan (Shota Yamada 1-PS, Raiki Fujishima 2-PC, Yoshiki Kirishita 29-PS, Kosei Kawabe 35-FG, Ryoma Ooka 41-FG) 3-5.
December 22 (3/4th Place): India (Harmanpreet Singh 2-PC, Sumit 45-FG, Varun Kumar 54-PC, Akashdeep Singh 57-FG) beat Pakistan (Afraz 10-FG, Rana Abdul 33-PC, Moin Shakeel 57-FG) 4-3. Man of the Match: Manpreet Singh (India).
----------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS -----------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Indian Senior Men Hockey Team pose before the Asian Champions Trophy Tournament.
RIGHT: India forward Dilpreet Singh scores a field goal against Bangladesh at the Asian Champions Trophy Tournament in Dhaka on 15 December 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES