Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Postal men, BAA women win State Sr basketball titles
12 Dec 2021

Odisha Postal men emerged new champions and Bhubaneswar Athletic Association (BAA) women retained the title in the 62nd Odisha State Senior Basketball Championship, which concluded at Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Cuttack today.

In the finals, Odisha Postal men beat Cuttack District Athletic Association (CDAA) 93-80, while BAA women defeated Club the Entertainer 56-23. The four-day championship was organised by Odisha Basketball Association (OBA). Matches were also played at and Barabati Stadium Basketball Complex, Cuttack.


R Vineel Krishna, Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Department of Sports & Youth Services, Government of Odisha, and his wife SV Chandana handed over the trophies at the closing ceremony.

Former and current inmates of Sports Hostel Bhubaneswar, Rudrakanta Sahoo (now Odisha Postal) and Sipramayee Satapathy bagged the prizes as the male and female Player of the Tournament respectively.

Choudwar MLA Souvik Biswal, Odisha Hockey Promotion Council Chairman Dilip Tirkey, Football Association of Odisha Secretary Asirbad Behera, OBA President Gyana Ranjan Parida and Secretary Ashok Sahu were present on the occasion.

As many as 30 men and 18 women teams participated in the championship. Odisha Olympic Association Secretary Avijit Paul and former basketball international S C Mali joined the opening ceremony as guests.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Players of mens champions Odisha Postal team with guests at the presentation ceremony in Cuttack on 12 December 2021.
RIGHT: Players of Bhubaneswar Athletic Association women team receive the champions trophy in Cuttack on 12 December 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES