Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Odisha start Vijay Hazare Trophy campaign with solid win
08 Dec 2021

Heart-warming performances by captain Subhranshu Senapati and spin bowler Jayanta Behera enabled Odisha to beat Andhra Pradesh by 63 runs in their Elite Group-A opening match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy National One-Day Cricket Tournament at Sharad Pawar Cricket Academy BKC, Mumbai today.

Riding on a century by Senapati, who slammed 116 (120 balls, 8x4, 2x6) and a half-century by opener Sandeep Pattanaik (57 off 86, 6x4), Odisha compiled an imposing total of 278 after they were put into bat by Andhra Pradesh captain KS Bharat. Besides Senapati and Pattanaik, allrounder Govinda Poddar (46) and stumper Rajesh Dhuper (28 not out) made notable contributions to the Odisha total.


In reply, Andhra Pradesh were bowled out for 215. Ricky Bhui was their top scorer with 74. Cheap dismissal of star batsman A T Rayudu cost Andhra Pradesh dear. Jayanta Behera broke the backbone of the opposition batting line-up, bagging four wickets for 24 runs, while Debabrata Pradhan picked up two for 56.


Anurag Sarangi lbw Reddy 5, Sandeep Pattanaik b Golamaru 57, Subhransu Senapati (C) c Shoaib b Stephen 116, Govinda Poddar c Rayudu b Reddy 46, Rajesh Dhuper (W) not out 28, Abhishek Raut run out (Sasikanth) 9, Biplab Samantaray not out 0; Extras (w-10, lb-7) 17
(5 wickets; 50 overs) 278
Did not bat:
Sunil Kumar Roul, Jayanta Behera, Rajesh Mohanty, Debabrata Pradhan
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Sarangi, 5.2 ov), 2-115 (Pattanaik, 25.6 ov), 3-239 (Poddar, 44.5 ov), 4-241 (Senapati, 45.4 ov), 5-277 (Raut, 49.4 ov)
Bowling: Stephen 10-2-43-1, M Harishankar Reddy 10-0-63-2, K V Sasikanth 10-1-53-0, Manish Golamaru 10-0-38-1, Pinninit Tapaswi 3-0-20-0, Shoaib Mohammed Khan 7-0-54-0.

ANDHRA PRADESH: C R Gnaneshwar b Pradhan 0, Ashwin Hebbar lbw Mohanty 0, K S Bharat (C/W) b Pradhan 14, Ricky Bhui c&b Raut 74, A T Rayudu c Poddar b Behera 12, Pinninit Tapaswi c Sarangi b Behera 16, Manish Golamaru c Raut b Behera 48, K V Sasikanth c Senapati b Poddar 15, Shoaib Mohammed Khan c Sarangi b Behera 2, M Harishankar Reddy not out 20, Stephen b Roul 3; Extras (w-9, lb-2) 11
(All out; 46.3 overs) 215
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Gnaneshwar, 0.4 ov), 2-2 (Hebbar, 1.6 ov), 3-17 (Bharat, 4.6 ov), 4-56 (Rayudu, 15.2 ov), 5-115 (Tapaswi, 28.4 ov), 6-128 (Bhui, 32.1 ov), 7-185 (Golamaru, 40.6 ov), 8-191 (Shoaib, 42.2 ov), 9-192 (Sasikanth, 43.1 ov), 10-215 (Stephen, 46.3 ov)
Bowling: Debabrata Pradhan 8-0-56-2, Rajesh Mohanty 8-3-24-1, Sunil Kumar Roul 7.3-0-40-1, Jayanta Behera 10-1-24-4, Biplab Samantaray 3-0-13-0, Abhishek Raut 6-0-43-1, Govinda Poddar 4-0-13-1.
------------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS -------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Odisha captain Subhranshu Senapati poses after leading Odisha to victory with a superb century against Andhra Pradesh in Mumbai on 8 December 2021.
RIGHT: Odisha spinner Jayanta Behera poses after his match-winning haul of four for 24 against Andhra Pradesh in Mumbai on 8 December 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES