Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Jr Hockey World Cup: India beat Belgium, enter SFs
01 Dec 2021

A priceless goal by Sharda Nand Tiwari and lionhearted performance by goalkeepers Prashant Chauhan and Pawan helped host India overcome Belgium 1-0 in the last quarterfinal of the 12th Junior Men Hockey World Cup at Kalinga Hockey Stadium in Bhubaneswar today.

Tiwari scored the all-important goal, converting a penalty corner in the 21st minute. But Vishnukant Sharma (India) was named the Player of the Match. It can be recalled that India had won the gold medal in the last Junior World Cup, defeating Belgium in the final in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh in 2016.

Germany, Argentina and France emerged winners in the first three quarterfinals earlier in the day. Defending champions India will meet Germany and France will take on Argentina in the semifinals on December 3.


In the first quarterfinal of the day, six-time champions Germany edged out Spain 3-1 in shootout after play in the regulation time ended in 2-2 draw. Germany goalkeeper Jean Danneburg came off the bench to produce a game winning performance in the shoot-out and earned the Player of the Match award.

Later in the day, Argentina registered a superb 2-1 victory over the much-fancied Netherlands with Franco Agostini scoring the match winner in the 59th minue, while France rode on yet another hat-trick by captain Timothee Clements to outclash Malaysia 4-0.  

RESULTS (December 1):

Match 29 (1st QF):
Germany (Christopher Kutter 5-PS, Masi Pfandt 60-PC) beat Spain (Ignacio Abajo 11-PC, Eduard De Ignacio-Simo 59-FG) 5-3, via shootout (Full time 2-2). Shoot out: Germany (Michel Struthoff, Hannes Muller, Paul Smith) beat Spain (Gerard Clapes) 3-1. Player of the Match: Jean Danneberg (GER).

Match 30 (2nd QF): Argentina (Joaquin Kruger 24-FG, Franco Agostini 59-FG) beat Netherlands (Miles Bukkens 25-PC) 2-1. Player of the Match: Tadeo Marcucci (ARG).

Match 31 (3rd QF): France (Timothee Clement 14-PC, 24-PC, 60-PC; Mathis Clement 31-PC) beat Malaysia 4-0. Player of the Match: Timothee Clement (FRA).

Match 32 (4th QF): India (Sharda Nanda Tiwari 21-PC) beat Belgium 1-0. Player of the Match: Vishnukant Singh (IND).
------------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS -------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Sharda Nand Tiwari is hugged by teammates after scored the all-important goal for India in their quarterfinal match against Belgium in Bhubaneswar on 1 December 2021.
RIGHT: Vishnukant Singh poses with the Player of the Match award in Bhubaneswar on 1 December 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES