Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Jr Men Hockey WC: India maul Canada to bounce back
25 Nov 2021

Putting the stunning defeat at the hands of France behind, host and defending champions India crushed Canada 13-1 to register their first win in Pool B of the Mens Junior Hockey World Cup at the Kalinga Hockey Stadium in Bhubaneswar today. A whopping 70 goals were scored on the second day of the tournament.

Spain set a new record for goals scored at the event in a single match, trouncing USA 17-0. The previous record was a 13-0 victory for India against Singapore at the 1982 Junior World Cup. Argentina hammered Egypt 14-0, Netherlands trounced Korea 12-5 and France drubbed Poland 7-1 in three other pool matches of the day.

Penalty corner specialists Sanjay and Araijeet Singh Hundal dazzled in the emphatic Indian win, notching a hat-trick each. Uttam Singh and Sharda Nand Tiwari sounded the board twice each, while captain Vivek Sagar Prasad, Maninder Singh and Odisha boy Abhisek Lakra contributed one goal each. Hundal was adjudged as the Player of the Match.

RESULTS (November 25):

Match 6:
Argentina (Facundo Zarate 3-PC, 47-PS, 58-PS; Francisco Ruiz 10-FG, Lautaro Domene 12-PC, 58-PC; Bautista Capurro 22-FG, 44-PC; Franco Agostini 25-FG, Ignacio Nardolillo 39-FG, Lucio Mendez 46-FG, Joaquin Kruger 47-PC, 51-FG; Bruno Stallato 48-PC) beat Egypt 14-0. Player of the Match: Facundo Zarate (ARG).

Match 7: Netherlands (Sheldon Schouten 10-PS, Miles Bukkens 13-FG, 16-FG, 36-FG, 58-FG, 60-PC; Casper van der Veen 18-PC, 26-FG, 53-FG; Olivier Hortensius 21-FG, Brent van Bijnen 35-FG, 49-FG) beat South Korea (Jun Seong Jeong 7-PC, 14-PC, 48-PC; Seung Ho Yoo 41-FG, Hyunwoo Kim 54-FG) 12-5. Player of the Match: Miles Bukkens (NED).

Match 8: Spain (Gerard Clapes 6-FG, 14-FG, 29-FG, 30-FG; Manuel Rodriguez 7-FG, Pepe Cunill 9-PC, 29-FG; Rafael Vilallonga 13-FG, Eduard De Ignacio-Simo 26-FG, 31-FG, 37-FG; Pol Cabre-Verdiell 46-FG, Pau Cunill 55-PC, Jordi Bonastre 56-FG, Guillermo Fortuno 60-FG, 60-FG) beat USA 17-0. Player of the Match: Gerard Clapes (ESP).

Match 9: France (Antonin Igau 1-FG, Timothee Clement 3-PC, 36-PC; Corentin Sellier 11-FG, 27-FG, 34-FG; Jules Bournac 54-FG) beat Poland (Gracjan Jarzynski 22-FG) 7-1. Player of the Match: Corentin Sellier (FRA).

Match 10: India (Uttam Singh 6-FG, 47-FG; Vivek Sagar Prasad 8-FG, Sanjay 17-PC, 32-PC, 59-PC; Maninder Singh 27-FG, Sharda Nand Tiwari 35-PC, 53-PC; Araijeet Singh Hundal 40-PC, 50-FG, 51-FG; Abhisek Lakra 55-PC) beat Canada (Christopher Tardif 30-PC) 13-1. Player of the Match: Araijeet Singh Hundal (IND).
PHOTO: Indian penalty corner specialist Araijeet Singh Hundal with his Player of the Match memento in Bhubaneswar on 25 November 2021.



Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES