Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  State Volleyball Meet: East Coast Rly reign supreme
13 Nov 2021

East Coast Railway clinched a double crown by winning both the mens and womens titles in the 69th Odisha Senior State Volleyball Championships, which concluded in Phulbani and Boudh Town today. The championship was organised by Odisha Volleyball Association (OVA) with the support of Department of Sports & Youth Services, Government of Odisha.

In the finals, East Coast Railway men beat Bhadrak by 2-0 sets, while East Coast Railway women prevailed over KIIT 2-0 (25-18, 25-16). Keonjhar finished third, defeating KIIT by 2-0 sets in the mens competition. The mens champion team took home the top prize of Rs 25,000, while the runners-up and third-place finishers settled with Rs 15,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively.


The third place in womens competition was secured by Cuttack, who beat Paradeep Port Trust 2-1 (25-22, 18-25, 15-6). The womens champion team received a cash prize of Rs 18,000, while teams occupying second and third position were given Rs 12,000 and Rs 8,000 respectively.

Baliguda won the title in the 1st Traditional Volleyball (Shooting) Championship for Men with a 2-0 victory over Chakapada in the final match. The champion team received a cash prize of Rs 10,000 and the runners-up side was given Rs 8,000.

Kandhamal MP, VFI President and KIIT & KISS founder Prof Achyuta Samanta graced the closing ceremony as chief guest in Phulbani. Kandhamal District Athletic Association President Kamalakanta Pandey, General Secretary Sibaprasad Tripathy and OVA General Secretary Dr Gaganendu Dash were present on the occasion.

The presentation ceremony at Boudh Town was graced by Boudh MLA Pradeep Kumar Amat, Boudh Collector Lalatendu Mishra, OVA working president Sanjay Kumar Das and Boudh District Athletic Association secretary Rabindra Kumar Rout.
PHOTO: Players of State senior volleyball title winning East Coast Railway men and women teams with guests and officials at the presentation ceremony in Phulbani and Boudh on 13 November 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES