Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  State Senior Volleyball Championships inaugurated
11 Nov 2021

The 69th Odisha State Senior Volleyball Championship (Men & Women) and 1st Traditional Volleyball (Shooting) Championship (Men) commenced with several new features at six venues in Kandhamal district and one in Boudh district today.

More than 1500 players and 200 officials from 30 districts and six institutions joined the four-day championships, which are being organised by Odisha Volleyball Association (OVA) along with Boudh and Kandhamal District Athletic Associations.

A total of 72 teams (32 men, 20 women and 20 men shooting) would vie for honours. The venues are: Phulbani, Tikabali, Raikia and Baliguda in Kandhamal district and Boudh Town in Boudh district.


Government of Odisha, Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT) and Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences (KISS) are providing financial support for these championships.

Staged for the first time in Kandhamal and Boudh districts, the championships were inaugurated by Kandhamal MP and Volleyball Federation of India (VFI) President Dr Achyuta Samanta. The venues were: Phulbani, Tikabali, Raikia and Baliguda in Kandhamal district and Boudh Town in Boudh district.

Boudh MLA Pradeep Kumar Amat, Kantamala MLA Mahidhar Rana, Boudh Collector Lalatendu Mishra and Boudh District Athletic Association General Secretary Rabindra Kumar Rout were present at the opening ceremonly of the State championship in Boudh Town.

Dr Samant, who is also the founder of KIIT and KISS, graced opening ceremony of the
Traditional Volleyball Championship in Phulbani, where guests present included KandhamalCollector Dr Brunda D, Phulbani MLA Angada Kanhar, Daspalla MLA Ramesh Chandra Behera, G Udayagiri MLA Saluga Pradhan, Baliguda MLA Chakramani Kanhar, Phulbani Jilla Parisad Chairman Akankha Pradhan, Kandhamal District Athletic Association President Kamalakanta Pandey and General Secretary Sibaprasad Tripathy.

VFI Associate Joint Secretary, OVA General Secretary & KIIT Deemed University Sports Director Dr Gaganendu Dash was present at the both the opening ceremonies. For the first time, prize money to champion, runner-up and third-placed teams, uniform to all players and officials and one-side transportation fare will be provided.


At Boudh (Women matches):
KIIT beat Khurda by 25-6, 25-13. Cuttack beat Kendrapara 25-16, 23-25, 15-7. East Coast Railway beat Paradeep Port Trust 25-12, 25-3. Kandhamal beat Bhadrak 25-15, 25-6. Sundargarh beat Boudh 25-2, 25-6. Khurda beat Kendrapara 25-15, 25-18.

At Phulbani (Men matches): Puri beat Subarnapur 2-0. Mayurbhanj beat Bhubaneswar 2-0. Sundargarh beat Kandhamal 2-1. East Coast Railway beat Cuttack 2-0. Paradeep Port Trust beat Jharsuguda 2-0. Odisha Police beat Keonjhar 2-0. Puri beat Kandhamal 2-0. Paradeep Port Trust beat Subarnapur 2-0. Jharsuguda beat Sundargarh 2-0.

At Baliguda (Men matches): Balangir beat Nuapada 2-0 (25-19, 25-16). Rourkela Steel Plant beat Kalahandi 2-0 (25-23, 25-13). Jajpur beat Sambalpur 2-0 (25-22, 25-9). Kalahandi beat Nuapada 2-0 (25-16, 25-19). Kendrapara beat Balangir 2-0 (25-12, 25-19). Rourkela Steel Plant beat Jajpur 2-0 (25-20, 25-22).

At Raikia (Men matches): Angul beat Ganjam 2-1. Nayagarh beat Deogarh 2-0. Bhadrak beat Boudh 2-0. Nayagarh beat Angul 2-1. Bhadrak beat Deogarh 2-0.

At Tikabali (Men matches): Jagatsinghpur beat Khurda 2-1 (25-18, 21-25, 15-12). Dhenkanal beat Bargarh 2-0 (25-21, 25-210).


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES