Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  SM Ali Trophy: Odisha suffer hat-trick of defeats
08 Nov 2021

Odisha suffered a hat-trick of defeats in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 Tournament when they lost to Punjab by 60 runs in their fourth Elite Group-A match at Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow today. After starting campaign with a win over Goa, Odisha had lost to Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra in the previous two games. Odisha will play their fifth and last match against Puducherry on November 9.

In the match against Punjab, Abhishek Raut and Bikas Rout stood out with heart-warming performances. The former saved Odisha from a batting debacle, hitting an unbeaten 74 (56 balls, 8x4, 1x6), while the latter took two wickets and scored a 19-ball 22.


Chasing an imposing target of 190, Odisha were in dire straits, losing six wickets for 55 runs. Abhishek and Bikash help them salvage some respect, stitching together 62 runs in the seventh-wicket stand.

Earlier opting to bat, Punjab made 189 for four, thanks to 23-ball 54 (3x4, 5x6) by Ramandeep Singh. Gurkeerat Mann (48*), Prabhsimran Singh (40) and Abhishek Sharma (30) also batted well for Punjab. Ashish Rai was most expensive Odisha bowler, leaking 47 runs in three overs.


Prabhsimran Singh (W) c Pradhan b Rout 40, Shubman Gill c Prayas b Pradhan 9, Abhishek Sharma c Raut b Rout 30, Gurkeerat Mann not out 48, Ramandeep Singh c Raut b Rai 54, Sanvir Singh not out 3; Extras (w-2, lb-3) 5
(4 wickets; 20 overs) 189
Did not bat:
Harpreet Brar, Arshdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Mayank Markande, Siddharth Kaul
Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Gill, 2.4 ov), 2-69 (Sharma, 7.5 ov), 3-84 (Prabhsimran, 11.3 ov), 4-180 (Ramandeep, 18.6 ov)
Bowling: Govinda Poddar 3-0-22-0, Ashish Rai 3-0-47-1, Debabrata Pradhan 4-0-34-1, Jayanta Behera 4-0-25-0, Bikash K Rout 4-0-34-2, Abhishek Raut 2-0-24-0.

ODISHA: Rajesh Dhuper (CW) c&b Sharma 0, Anshuman Rath b Kaul 7, Subhransu Senapati run out Brar 2, Govinda Poddar c Anmolpreet Singh (Sub) b Markande 17, Abhishek Raut not out 74, Abhishek Yadav c Arshdeep b Markande 1, Prayas Singh lbw Brar 1, Bikash K Rout c Sanvir b Kaul 22, Debabrata Pradhan not out 1; Extras (w-2, b-1, lb-1) 4
(7 wickets; 20 overs) 129
Did not bat:
Ashish Rai, Jayanta Behera
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Dhuper, 0.2 ov), 2-9 (Senapati, 2.4 ov), 3-10 (Rath, 3.1 ov), 4-43 (Poddar, 8.5 ov), 5-54 (Yadav, 10.3 ov), 6-55 (Prayas, 11.1 ov), 7-117 (Rout, 18.2 ov)
Bowling: Abhishek Sharma 2-0-6-1, Arshdeep Singh 4-0-25-0, Siddharth Kaul 4-0-34-2, Mayank Markande 4-0-25-2, Harpreet Brar 4-0-26-1, Ramandeep Singh 2-0-11-0.
------------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS -------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Odisha batter Abhishek Raut after hitting an unbeaten 74 against Punjab in Lucknow on 8 November 2021.
RIGHT: Odisha allounder Bikash Rout after putting up fine performance against Punjab in Lucknow on 8 November 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES