Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  SM Ali Trophy: Odisha lose to Tamil Nadu by 1 run
05 Nov 2021

Odisha suffered a heartbreaking defeat in their second Elite Group-A match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 Tournament when they went down to Tamil Nadi by one run at Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium-B in Lucknow today.

Chasing a daunting target of 166, Odisha missed the victory opportunity by a whisker as they were restricted to 164 for six. Allrounder Abhishek Raut and top-order batter Subhransu Senapat, however, put up impressive performance for Odisha.

Raut scalped three wickets 30 runs and followed it with a 21-ball unbeaten 38 (4x4, 1x6). Senapati became top scorer of the match, slamming a 47-ball 67 (3x4, 3x6). Govinda Poddar also contributed a notable 29 to the total of Odisha.


Earlier, put into bat by Odisha captain and wicketkeeper Rajesh Dhuper, Tamil Nadu made 165 for five, thanks to an unbeaten 44 by Baba Aparajith. Odisha will next meet Maharashtra tomorrow.


C Hari Nishaanth c Rout b Rai 11, N Jagadeesan (CW) c Pradhan b Raut 37, B Sai Sudharsan c Rout b Raut 28, B Aparajith not out 44, Shahrukh Khan lbw Raut 0, Kaushik c Senapati b Behera 10, M Mohammed not out 27; Extras (w-8) 8
(5 wickets; 20 overs) 165
Did not bat:
Warrier, T Natarajan, R Sai Kishore, M Ashwin
Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Nishaanth, 2.6 ov), 2-74 (Sudharsan, 9.6 ov), 3-94 (Jagadeesan, 13.2 ov), 4-94 (Shahrukh, 13.3 ov), 5-123 (Kaushik, 16.3 ov)
Bowling: Debabrata Pradhan 4.1-0-40-0, Govinda Poddar 1-0-2-0, Ashish Rai 4-0-45-1, Jayanta Behera 4-0-25-1, Bikash K Rout 3-0-23-0, Abhishek Raut 4-0-30-3.

ODISHA: Rajesh Dhuper (CW) c Sai Kishore b Mohammed 12, Anshuman Rath b Warrier 4, Subhransu Senapati c Aparajith b Natarajan 67, Govinda Poddar run out Ashwin 29, Abhishek Yadav lbw Ashwin 0, Abhishek Raut not out 38, Sarbeswar Mohanty b Natarajan 3, Bikash Rout not out 1; Extras (nb-2, w-3, b-1, lb-4) 10
(6 wickets; 20 overs) 164
Did not bat:
Ashish Rai, Jayanta Behera, Debabrata Pradhan
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Rath, 2.3 ov), 2-31 (Dhuper, 5.4 ov), 3-93 (Poddar, 13.1 ov), 4-94 (Yadav, 13.3 ov), 5-143 (Senapati, 17.6 ov), 6-154 (Mohanty, 19.2 ov)
Bowling: Warrier 4-0-34-1, T Natarajan 4-0-38-2, B Aparajith 1-0-8-0, R Sai Kishore 4-0-32-0, M Mohammed 3-0-21-1, M Ashwin 4-0-26-1.
------------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS -------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Odisha allrounder Abhishek Raut after his fine performance against Tamil Nadu in Lucknow on 5 November 2021.
RIGHT: Odisha batter Subhransu Senapati after hitting a spectacular 67 against Tamil Nadu in Lucknow on 5 November 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES