Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Rasanara, Sarita, Sushree shine in Odisha win
31 Oct 2021

Odisha registered a thumping eight-wicket win over Tamil Nadu in their Elite Group-B opening match of the BCCI Womens Senior One-Day Trophy at PYC Gymkhana in Pune today. Rasanara Parwin, Sarita Meher, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Madhuri Meheta and Kajal Jena put up dazzling performance for Odisha.

Chasing a competitive target of 229, Odisha rode on authoritative display by their top four batters to clinch the win more than five overs to spare, losing only two wickets in the process. Madhuri and Kajal gave Odisha a formidable start, stitching together 76 runs for the opening wicket.


Unfortunately, both the openers narrowly missed out on respective half-century. Kajal was more aggressive of the two, hitting nine boundaries and a six in her 30-ball 48, while Madhuri made a 78-ball 49, which included eight hits to the rope.

After the dismissal of Kajal, former international Madhuri added 66 runs in the second-wicket partnership with Sarita, who became the top-scorer of the match, slamming a 96-ball unbeaten 63 with the help of eight boundaries.

Sarita and Sushree then steered Odisha to victory, compiling 88 runs for the unfinished third-wicket stand. Sushree remained unbeaten with a 62-ball 55, which featured nine hits to the fence.

Earlier opting to bat after captain SB Keerthana won the toss, Tamil Nadu were bowled out for 228. Rasanara caused maximum damage to the opposition innings, bagging five wickets for 45 runs, while Priyanka Priyadarshini Sahu and Sushree picked up a brace each.


A Eloksi b Sushree 19, MD Thirushkamini st Pragyan b Rasanara 34, Arshi Choudhary c Pragyan b Rasanara 0, Niranjana Nagarajan c Pragyan b Rasanara 37, Nethra L lbw Sushree 21, SB Keerthana (Capt) c Sujata b Priyanka 39, MS Shailaja c Madhusmita b Priyanka 17, S Anusha b Madhusmita 33, S Pavithra Sridharan (wk) c&b Rasanara 0, Yogya Kosuri st Pragyan b Rasanara 0, KN Ramyashri not out 3; Extras (w-25) 25
(All out; 49.1 overs) 228
Fall of wickets:
1-55 (Thirushkamini, 14.2 ov), 2-55 (Arshi, 14.4 ov), 3-83 (Eloksi, 21.4 ov), 4-124 (Niranjana, 31.5 ov), 5-124 (Nethra, 32.1 ov), 6-183 (Shailaja, 42.1 ov), 7-204 (Keerthana, 44.5 ov), 8-204 (Pavithra, 45.3 ov), 9-204 (Yogya, 45.5 ov), 10-228 (Anusha, 49.1 ov)
Bowling: Sujata Mallik 7-1-24-0, Rameswari Naik 6-0-27-0, Priyanka Priyadarshini 10-1-45-2, Madhusmita Behera 9.1-1-41-1, Rasanara Parwin 9-1-45-5, Sushree Dibyadarshini 8-0-46-2.

ODISHA: Madhuri Meheta lbw Ramyashri 49, Kajal Jena C Pavithra b Ramyashri 48, Sarita Meher not out 63, Sushree Dibyadarshini not out 55; Extras (w-11, lb-4) 15
(2 wickets; 44.2 overs) 230
Did not bat:
Tanmayee Behera, Pragyan Paramita Mohanty (wk), Madhusmita Behera (Capt), Priyanka Priyadarshini Sahu, Rasanara Parwin, Sujata Mallik, Rameswari Naik
Fall of wickets: 1-76 (Kajal, 9.4 ov), 2-142 (Madhuri, 25.5 ov)
Bowling: Niranjana Nagarajan 6-0-41-0, S Anusha 7-0-47-0, S B Keerthana 8-0-34-0, K N Ramyashri 9-0-38-2, A Eloksi 5-2-23-0, Nethra L 6.2-0-23-0, Arshi Choudhary 2-0-14-0, MD Thirushkamini 1-0-6-0.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Odisha off-spinner Rasanara Parwin after taking five wickets against Tamil Nadu in Pune on 31 October 2021.
RIGHT: Odisha allrounder Sushree Dibyadarshini Pradhan after putting up fine performance against Tamil Nadu in Pune on 31 October 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES