Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Cuttack-A crowned Kalahandi Cup champions
27 Oct 2021

Cuttack-A emerged champions in the two-day format of the Kalahandi Cup Senior Inter-District Cricket Tournament, defeating East Coast Railway by 82 runs in the final held at Ravenshaw University Ground in Cuttack on 26 and 27 October 2021.

Cuttack-A batter Biplab Samantray was the star of the final match, scoring an unbeaten 109 off 132 balls. He hit 13 boundaries and one six to be adjudged the Player of the Match. Put into bat, East Coast Railway failed to play the full qutoa of 70 overs and were bowled out for 174.

A defiant 94 off 149 balls by Ankit Yadav helped East Coast Railway muster the respectable total. Subham Nayak and Jamala B Mohapatra were most successful bowlers for Cuttack-A, capturing three wickets each. In reply, Cuttack-A compiled 256 for six in 70 overs.


Odisha Sports & Youth Services Minister Tusharkanti Behera handed over the Kalahandi Cup to champions Cuttack-A team captain Aravinda Kumar Singh at the presentation ceremony.

Ravenshaw University Vice-Chancellor Prof Sanjay Nayak, Odisha Athletics and Football Association Secretary Asirbad Behera, Odisha Olympic Association Secretary Avijit Paul, Odisha Cricket Association President Pankaj Lochan Mohanty, Secretary Sanjay Behera, Joint-Secretary Mehtab Khan and Treasurer Bikash Pradhan were present on the occasion.

BRIEF SCORE (Final match): East Coast Railway 174/10 in 58.1 overs (Ankit Yadav 94, Sujit Lenka 21; Subham Nayak 3/48, Jamala B Mohapatra 3/49, Siddharth Sinha 2/20) lost to Cuttack-A 256/6 in 70 overs (Biplab Samantray 109*, Pratyush Pradhan 30, Aravinda Kumar Singh 30, Soubhagya Mishra 28, Jagyanjeet Sahu 22; Lagnajit Samal 2/45) by 82 runs.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------- PICS ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Players of champion Cuttack-A team with guests and OCA office-bearers at the Kalahandi Cup presentation ceremony in Cuttack on 27 October 2021.
RIGHT: Players of runners-up East Coast Railway team with guests and OCA office-bearers in Cuttack on 27 October 2021.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES