Home | About Us | Career | Contact Us
Editor Sanatan Pani

Back to Previous Page
  Shuttler Rutaparna Panda bags Ekalabya Award 2021
03 Jan 2022

Odisha woman badminton international Rutaparna Panda was conferred with the prestigious 29th Ekalabya Puraskar for the year 2021 in a function, held at Hotel Mayfair Convention in Bhubaneswar today. She received Rs 5 lakh cash award and a citation.

Odisha Governor Prof Ganeshi Lal handed over the award in the presence of Hockey Olympian Dilip Tirkey, athletics Olympian Anuradha Biswal and Ekalabya Puraskar Committee Chairperson Baijayant Panda.

Apart from Rutaparna, woman cycling international Swasti Singh and woman football international Pyari Xaxa were felicitated for their impressive performance in national and international competitions. The duo received Rs 50,000 each along with citations.


Cuttack shuttler Rutaparna, who has represented the nation in several international tournaments and has been credited with many wins for Indian women team from 1st April 2019 to 31st March 2021, emerged as the clear winner for the 2021 Ekalabya Award.

Ekalabya Puraskar, instituted by Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT), which is managed by IMFA, a leading Ferro Alloys producer in the country, in the year 1993, has come a long way to be recognized as one of most prestigious sports awards of Odisha. The award is given every year to young sportspersons of Odisha in recognition of their outstanding performance in the preceeding two years.

Speaking on the occasion Baijayant Panda said, “IMPaCT has been in continuous pursuit to recognize and foster excellence in sports and literature besides contributing to the general welfare of the society at large. Ekalabya Puraskar is instituted to encourage and inspire young sports persons to perform at national and international arena.”
------------------------------------------------------------------------------ PICS ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOP: Rutaparna Panda receives the 29th Ekalabya Award from Odisha Governor Prof Ganeshi Lal in Bhubaneswar on 3 January 2022.
RIGHT: Ekalabya Award winners with guests in Bhubaneswar on 3 January 2022.


Copyright @ Powered by: KDC TECHNOLOGIES